Q&A WITH M/M EROTICA AUTHOR LORI TOLAND W/Giveaway

Lori will be awarding a $25 Amazon GC to one randomly drawn commenter and to the host with the most comments during her book tour (excluding the host’s and the author’s).

From Publisher: British Agent Nathaniel Bradley is tasked with bringing home a stolen heirloom. After tracking the Faberge egg all the way to a group of criminals in New York, Bradley infiltrates a ring of con artists and gets sucked into the role of a high priced prostitute.

 While hoping for a chance to take back what is rightfully his, Bradley’s sole mission becomes to seduce Tony Terranova, Jr, the heir to a notorious mafia dynasty. Though Tony is strikingly handsome, the usually dominant Bradley is hesitant to submit to the sexual whims of a dangerous Mafioso.

 What Bradley doesn’t expect is for Tony to fall to his knees so eagerly for him, leaving him blindsided by how intensely their dark tastes complement each other. Now Bradley is caught up in a deadly game of lies and desire, where what he truly wants may not be what duty requires.

It’s Q&A Time!

Q: Can you tell us a little something about where you grew up and what your childhood was like?

A: I grew up in San Diego right near Pacific Beach. I was a surfer girl (or boogie boarder girl) and I grew up in the ocean. If I wasn’t swimming, I was reading.

Q: When did you first begin reading novels?

A: I’ve been reading since I can remember. My first memories were of my aunt and grandma teaching me how to read. When I was thirteen, I got my hands on my first romance novel and I enjoyed the hunky hero riding off into the sunset with his mate.

Q: I love to read m/m myself and am very interested in learning about how you became interested in writing about it.

A: I’ve been writing m/m since 1999, and I’ve always loved it. I had an idea for a story and one of the characters was gay. I went with the story line and I enjoyed the story.

Q: What are your favorite erotica books?

A: The Assignment by Evangeline Anderson and Make Me, Sir by Cherise Sinclair.

Q: When did you realize you wanted to become a writer?

A: Back in 2000, I really wanted to try my hand at writing professionally. I tried to get my m/m pubbed but I guess I was just ahead of my time. I took some time off and started a business and in 2009, I went to the RT convention and got started writing again.

Q: What made you want to write erotica?

A: When it comes to erotica, I write in the sub-category of erotic romance, so that means there is always a happy ending with really hot sex driving the plot development. I love writing making love between my two characters. It’s a lot of fun. If it wasn’t fun, I wouldn’t be slaving away over a keyboard. I’d be off reading.

Q: Of all your novels, which is your favorite and why?

A: I would have to say it’s The Long Con. I love Tony and Bradley’s chemistry. It got so hot sometimes that it burned me when I wrote their story. Their romance and attraction exploded on the pages.

Q: When you’re working on a book, how much time per day is devoted to it?

A: I have a day job that I work at all day so I tend to work on it when I have a few minutes. I tend to aim for word count rather than time spent on a daily basis. I try to hit 2K per day.

Q: What do you like to do in your free time?

A: Read. I also love playing video games too.

Q: What is your favorite genre of music?

A: I love Top 40 and rock n roll. I also love J-Pop and video game music. There’s nothing better than hitting the end of a huge battle and hearing the triumphant song at the end. It’s positive reinforcement.

Q: What is your favorite type of film?

A: I like all films but I also like ones with strong females but that’s only if I sit down long enough to watch a movie. I tend to get bored watching them, possibly because I’m not in control of the story line.

Lori: Thank you for having me by! Best wishes to all and good luck!

Lori will be awarding a $25 Amazon GC to one randomly drawn commenter and to the host with the most comments during her book tour (excluding the host’s and the author’s) so leave a comment about her book or the interview to be eligable.

Do not post your email address in your comments or your post will be deleted.

54 Comments

  1. bn100 said,

    April 24, 2012 at 1:37 AM

    The book sounds good.

  2. Quilt Lady said,

    April 24, 2012 at 5:48 AM

    This book sounds really good. I have not read your work before.

  3. englishmeadows said,

    April 24, 2012 at 9:32 AM

    This is not usually the type of book that I read. However, something about this excerpt has really intrigued me, and I would love to read the story in its entirety. I haven’t read anything by Lori, so this would be a perfect opportunity for me to do so.

    • April 24, 2012 at 11:30 AM

      Hi Englishmeadows!

      The book is for sale now through Loose Id, Amazon and ARe if you would like to pick it up. Beware, it’s a very sexy book ;)

  4. April 24, 2012 at 9:55 AM

    Hi everyone! There’s supposed to be another post here I think :) But if you have any questions for me before that goes up, please post them here.

  5. diane said,

    April 24, 2012 at 10:20 AM

    An interesting interview which I enjoyed. I prefer rock n roll as well and movies with strong characters. Best wishes and much success.

  6. Linda McFarland said,

    April 24, 2012 at 10:20 AM

    Love to win the book sounds too awesome

    • April 24, 2012 at 11:32 AM

      Linda,

      Just so you know, I’m giving away a giftcard for $25, which you could use to buy my book if you so choose :) But thank you for the lovely comments about my book. I appreciate it.

  7. Terri Russell said,

    April 24, 2012 at 10:35 AM

    Well this book sounds fun. I have never read m/m. I think I will give it a try. Thank you for the fun giveaway!

  8. annfes said,

    April 24, 2012 at 10:42 AM

    How difficult is it to get inside the mind of men in order to write from their point of view? Do you have some male readers who give you feedback?

    • April 24, 2012 at 11:36 AM

      Hi Annfes,

      Yes, over the course of my books, I’ve had several male readers (one of which is my husband) who give me feedback. My books aren’t necessarily a map into the male’s mind, but just a romance between two men. :)

  9. Karen H in NC said,

    April 24, 2012 at 10:52 AM

    Thanks for an interesting interview. I’ve never read your work before either so I’ll try to follow you around on your current blog book tour. Annfes asked a good question and one I want the answer to as well. I recently read a story written by a woman (bk 1 in a series actually) where it is written in the first person from the male POV. I was thinking while reading that it must be difficult for a woman to write this type of story.

    • April 24, 2012 at 11:44 AM

      Hi Karen :) good to see you again :)

      Writing male perspective isn’t that hard because men aren’t all that different from women. That men don’t have feelings is a societal myth. I can assure you that my husband has feelings :)

      There are just a few differences, such as physically of course and how they view sex. But every person is different and it’s not limited to gender. There are men who have more nurturing, maternal instincts and women who have less maternal instincts as well. So my approach is just write interesting characters and throughout the story, explain who they are and why they are like that.

  10. librarypat said,

    April 24, 2012 at 10:53 AM

    Lori, You are one of the few women, authors or not, that admits to being a video game player. Interesting that it is the music that you mentioned on in your comment. I will say that the music for movies, video games, etc. does make a big difference. Good music can make a big difference. I think A KNIGHT’S TALE IS A GOOD EXAMPLE. It is a movie that showed medieval life pretty accurately. You would think a rock sound track by Queen would be awful, but it fits perfectly.

  11. April 24, 2012 at 11:28 AM

    You are entered in the giveaway! :)

  12. JeanP said,

    April 24, 2012 at 11:38 AM

    This sounds like a good book with very interesting characters. Enjoyed your interview.

  13. elaing8 said,

    April 24, 2012 at 12:40 PM

    Great Q&A.The book sounds really good.Love the cover too

  14. Tracey D said,

    April 24, 2012 at 12:42 PM

    What an enjoyable interview; thank you! I’ve added this to my must have list; I can’t wait to read The Long Con.

  15. donna ann said,

    April 24, 2012 at 1:05 PM

    book sounds like it could be interesting, not quite my usual thing, but something peaks my interest about it :) enjoyed the interview & comments. Congrats on the release

  16. April 24, 2012 at 2:22 PM

    Thank you for hosting Lori today!

  17. lsureader said,

    April 24, 2012 at 2:26 PM

    Thanks for the interview. I’m curious, Lori, what are the top three books on your personal TBR list?

    • April 24, 2012 at 8:18 PM

      Hi Lsureader! Is that LSU like Louisiana State University? Go Tigers :)

      My top three TBR books are… *drumroll*

      Frog by Mary Calmes
      Double Time by Olivia Cunning
      To Command and Collar by Cherise Sinclair

      God, I love anything by Mary. She speaks to my soul :)

  18. momjane said,

    April 24, 2012 at 2:44 PM

    I think love can happen between two people, it doesn’t matter who they are, or what sex they are. I admire you for writing this story.

  19. Rhiannon Rowland said,

    April 24, 2012 at 3:14 PM

    Woo, this looks like a steamy book! Not something I’ve read before but I’m interested!

    • April 24, 2012 at 8:20 PM

      Hi Rhiannon,

      This is a very steamy book. It’s erotic romance, which means the sex moves the plot forward. Plus Tony and Bradley would simply not stop having gorgeous sex! :)

  20. Joanne B said,

    April 24, 2012 at 5:07 PM

    Congrats on the book release. Great cover. This book sounds amazing. Can’t wait to read it. Will this be a stand alone book or part of a series? I put your book at the top of my wishlist.

    • April 24, 2012 at 8:21 PM

      Hi Joanne,

      This book stands alone right now, however there maybe be a sequel with new main characters. Tony and Bradley would be in that one as secondary characters but the book will center around a new couple. :)

  21. Mary Preston said,

    April 24, 2012 at 10:25 PM

    I love that you tend not to watch movies because you can’t control the story line. That’s such a fabulous thing to say.

  22. Marlene Breakfield said,

    April 24, 2012 at 11:07 PM

    This sounds like a good read. Thanks for the giveaway.

  23. infinitieh said,

    April 25, 2012 at 8:26 PM

    Congrats on your release!

    Since you like J-Pop, do you read manga or watch anime? If you do, do you enjoy more yaoi (like the genre you write) or regular stuff?

    • April 26, 2012 at 1:15 PM

      Hi Infinitieh!

      I do both. I really wish there was more yaoi anime though. There is a severe lack of it!

      mainly the J-Pop I like comes from gaming and I’m very sad to say there is little to no gay action, especially in games like the Persona franchise *sad panda* but Persona 4 was pretty cracktastic with Yosuke calling you “partner” all the damn time! :D

  24. Juliana said,

    April 25, 2012 at 8:45 PM

    Thanks so much for doing this blog tour! Love the conflict!

  25. mrsshukra said,

    April 26, 2012 at 12:32 AM

    I enjoy meeting new authors like Lori here, thanks!

  26. April 26, 2012 at 8:21 PM

    Thanks for having me by Terri!

  27. April 26, 2012 at 8:24 PM

    You’re very welcome Lori! I’m very glad I could help promote a m/m romance. :-)

  28. Catherine Lee said,

    April 27, 2012 at 6:40 PM

    I’ve never heard of J-Pop or video game music. I’m a classic rock girl ALL THE WAY!

  29. Jibriel O. said,

    May 4, 2012 at 5:05 PM

    I have to say that some J-Pop does work for me not all. Video game music is great as well, some of my favorite would be out of the FF role games. What is your favorite J-Pop band?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

