TO SAVE THE DEVIL by Kate Moore

Publication Info: October 2010, Berkley

Ex-spy and former Bow Street Runner Will Jones rescues a beautiful, unsullied virgin from a London brothel, but she is no swooning maiden. Instead, he faces a woman of wit who resists his aid, escapes his protection…and captures his imagination.

MY THOUGHTS: I’m sorry to say I didn’t care for this newer historical at all. I was genuinely interested in the mystery involving the heroes kidnapped younger brother, Kit, but it overtook this ‘romance’ novel. When I realized that was happening, from just a few pages in, I quickly lost interest. This is not a romance novel at all.

I’ve said this several times before lately and I’ll continue to say it when necessary; these characters were underdeveloped and there was really no backstory on them. I need to know where they came from and what their lives were like before they met one another. Something else I’ve noticed with the last few newer books I’ve read; hero and heroine are strangers when they meet yet it doesn’t seem like it. They almost seem like old acquaintances.

I rate this ‘romance’ a D/2 stars.

* I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

